April 28th, 2013

JMU Community Members are Honored in the 2013 Dolley Awards Ceremony

The Office of Student Activities and Involvements (OSAI) hosted the annual Dolley Awards Ceremonies on April 17th, presenting Dolley trophies to deserving organizations and individuals. The ceremony was held in the Festival Ballroom with 18 nominees walking away with a Dolley.

The awards provide an opportunity to honor organizations, advisors, and individuals that have demonstrated leadership through hard work in the JMU Community. “The combination of students, faculty staff, parents, and light refreshment made for a great night of reflection on a year of success,” said Raymond Brown, coordinator for the event.

Notable persons of JMU administration were also present, showing support for the event and its nominees. “We had the pleasure of having President Alger, VP of Student Affairs and University Planning Dr. Warner, and former VP of Student affairs Dr. Hall serve as presenters of the awards,” said Brown.

For future Dolley Awards, Brown states, “Our hope is to recognize as many individuals and groups each year for the great work and service they have brought to JMU’s campus.”



Award Winners:

Emerging Leader Award

1.    Allison Kaye

2.    Ryan Diviney

Emerging Organization Award

Maddy Night Live

Pay It Forward Award

Raychel Whyte

The Coca-Cola Scholarship Award for Substance Abuse Awareness

Jeffrey Blevins

The Hall Outstanding Faculty Achievement Award

Joshua Linder

Outstanding Program Award 

1.    Be Beautiful Campaign by PanHellenic Council

2.    Aphiasco by Alpha Phi

The Carrier Award for Outstanding Personal Pursuit of Leadership Development

1.    Jake Jedlicka

2.    Shahana Islam

The Rose Award For Alcohol Alternative Programming

Greeks Advocating Mature Management of Alcohol (G.A.M.M.A.)

G.A.M.M.A. Presents Mark Sterner, DUI: a powerful lesson

The Bluestone Award for Outstanding Advisor

1.    Kevin Apple

2.    Kristin Muncy

Outstanding Student Organization award

1.    C.A.R.E.

Campus Assault ResponsE

2.    V.S.A

Vietnamese Student Association

The Taylor Award for Outstanding Individual Contribution

1.    Alicia Pettis

2.    Bryan Vu

Dukes Pride Award

Marc Fernandes


What do you think?

Thanks for visiting the University Unions website. As we expand our web presence to provide more and better information to our students, we'd love to hear how we're doing. Tell us what you think! Love it or hate it, we'd love to hear it.