Alpha Sigma Tau

Chapter Information:

Alpha Sigma Tau was founded on November 4, 1899 in Ypsilanti, Michigan at Michigan State Normal College, known as Eastern Michigan University today. There are eight founding women: Harriet Marx, Helene Rice, Adriance Rice, Eva O’Keefe, May Gephart, Mayene Tracy, Mable Chase and Ruth Dutcher. Alpha Sigma Tau is the third oldest educational sorority.

The purpose of Alpha Sigma Tau is to promote the ethical, cultural and social development of its members, specifically:

To develop the character of each member through a study of ethics so that she will show in all her relationships sincerity, honesty, love and understanding;

To help each member enjoy the cultural advantages in life so that she will know how to select those things which are most worthwhile; and

To develop in each member the social graces to the extent that she will be able to take her place in life with true dignity and poise.

Chapter Information